Classical Music CD Claude Debussy Preludes

Vladimir Viardo, Piano
(PPR224525) Total Playing Time 70:47
Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918)

Préludes Livres I & II

Book I
1. Danseuses de Delphes
2. Voiles
3. Le vent dans la plaine
4. Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir
5. Les collines d'Anacapri
6. Des pas sur la neige
7. Ce qu'a vu le vent d'ouest
8. La fille aux cheveux de lin
9. La sérénade interrompue
10. La cathédrale engloutie
11. La danse de Puck
12. Minstrels

Book II
1. Brouillards
2. Feuilles mortes
3. La Puerta del Vino
4. Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses
5. Bruyéres
6. Général Lavine - eccentric
7. La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune
8. Ondine
9. Hommage à S. Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C.
10. Canope
11. Les tierces alternées
12. Feux d'artifice

"One had the impression he was actually playing on the strings of the instrument, without the mechanical aid of the keys and hammers.  He used the pedals as nobody else did.  The result was pure poetry."  Thus Italian composer Alfredo Casella described Debussy playing his Preludes.

Debussy's single-minded preoccupation with pianistic sonorities gave birth to a distinctive style of writing for the piano--matchless music that revealed his genius for blending harmonies, tones, and timbres.,  He desired that piano strings vibrate with and reflect all the colors and sounds in Nature."  He encouraged his pupils to caress rather than strike the keys, to make their hands "get inside the piano."  His own explorations in unleashed a profusion of new sounds which portrayed the heretofore inexpressible in two books of exquisitely wrought character pieces--his twenty-four Preludes.  The first set of twelve e was published in 1910, while the second volume appeared in 1913.


© Copyright by ProPiano. All Rights Reserved.