Classical Music CD Beethoven: Three Sonatas

Oxana Yablonskaya, Piano  (PPR224516)
Total Playing Time 70' 06"
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827):
Sonata No.17 in D Minor, Op. 31 No.2 "Tempest"
· Largo-Allegro
· Adagio
· Allegretto
Sonata No.21 in C Major, Op. 53 "Waldstein"
· Allegro con brio
· Introduzione. Adagio molto
· Rondo. Allegretto moderato-Prestissimo
Sonata No.28 in A Major, Op. 101
· Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung. Allegretto ma non troppo
· Lebhaft. MarschmäBig. Vivace alla marcia
· Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll. Adagio, ma non troppo, con affetto-
· Geshwind, doch nicht zu sehr, und mit Entschlossenheit, Allegro

Beethoven: Sonata No.21 in C Major, Op.53 "Waldstein"

Few works of are as revealing of their creator as the piano sonatas of Beethoven.  They require a fearless technician and an interpreter of great subtlety and empathy—for in them, composer. pianist and instrument join in a potent and magical communion,.  In Beethoven’s hands the piano became a private orchestra from which he drew endless colors and nuances and expressed the depths of his soul,.  His thirty-two sonatas remain a touchstone of the repertoire and harbor a vivid self-portrait of Beethoven himself—his humanity, as well as his volatile temperament and moods—explosive, good-hearted, fiery, introspective.    
From the original Liner Notes of Kathy Henkel


Oxana Yablonskaya was born in Moscow.  From ages six through sixteen,  she attended  The Moscow Central School for the Gifted under the tutelage of  Anaida Sumbatyan (who also taught Vladimir Ashkenazy).   Later she  studied with  Aleksandre Goldenweiser.  Finally, at the age of 22, she began a professional relationship with Tatiana Nikolayeva, later acting as her assistant at the Moscow Conservatory.  Following graduation she was introduced to the Western World by way of the Jaques Long-Thibaud Competition in 1963, the Rio de Janeiro Competition in 1965, and the Vienna Beethoven Competition in 1969.  She won top prizes in all three competitions, and received scores of invitations for return engagements, but was not allowed to do so.

Despite the reputation she had earned within the Soviet Union and despite being a prize winner of three international competitions, she was never permitted to play outside the Eastern Bloc.  Yet, she recorded for the Melodya label and held the prestigious title of “Soloist of the Moscow Philharmonic” along with artists such as Richter, Gilels and Rostropovich.  Outstanding solo performances with the Bolshoi Orchestra, the  “Moscow Stars” series,  and  the Shostakovich 65th Birthday Celebration Concert were confirmation of her “star” status.

Miss Yablonskaya  has held a faculty position  at The Juilliard School for many years.  She also travels widely giving master classes at the most distinguished conservatories throughout the world, and serves on the juries of numerous international piano competitions.

With this stunning all Beethoven recording, Oxana Yablonskaya makes her artistic debut on Pro Piano Records.


© Copyright by ProPiano. All Rights Reserved.